New Space Crew to Honor Yuri’s Night 2011

LAUNCH TODAY:NASA astronaut Catherine Coleman, Russian cosmonaut Dmitry Kondratyev and Paolo Nespoli of the European Space Agency will board the Soyuz TMA-20 Wednesday for a launch at 2:09 p.m. EST (1:09 a.m. Thursday, Kazakhstan time). NASA-TV will will commence coverage at 12:30 PM today.

The three Soyuz TMA-20 spaceflyers will be at the space station in April to mark the 50th anniversary of Yuri Gagarin’s mission, the first human flight into space.

“As the crew that is onboard the International Space Station on this very special day, we won’t be walking on the pages of history, we’ll be floating,” Coleman told reporters from behind a protective plate of glass.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *