Senate space subcommittee will get new ranking member

Thursday afternoon the Republican leadership of the Senate Commerce Committee announced the GOP members who will serve on the full committee in the new Congress. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) will return as ranking member of the full committee, where she will be joined by:

* Olympia Snowe, Maine * John Ensign, Nev. * Jim DeMint, S.C. * John Thune, S.D. * Roger Wicker, Miss. * Johnny Isakson, Ga. * Roy Blunt, Mo. * John Boozman, Ark. * Pat Toomey, Pa. * Marco Rubio, Fla. * Kelly Ayotte, N.H.

Notably absent from the list is Sen. David Vitter (R-LA), who in the last Congress served as the ranking member of the committee’s Science and Space subcommittee alongside subcommittee chairman Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL). Subcommittee assignments have not been made yet, so we don’t know yet who will succeed Vitter as ranking member.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *