Full Coverage Schedule for SpaceX

Artists conception of SpaceX’s Dragon spacecraft in orbit

SPACEX AND NASA SCHEDULE UPDATES

Liftoff of the first SpaceX Falcon 9/Dragon demonstration launch for NASA’s Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) program could occur as early as December 7th, with December 8th and 9th as backup days, from Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. The launch window for all three days extends from 9:00 a.m. to 12:22 p.m. EST. The Dragon capsule is expected to orbit the Earth at speeds greater than 17,000 miles per hour, reenter the Earth’s atmosphere, and land in the Pacific Ocean roughly 3 1/2 hours later.

The COTS Demo 1 launch will be webcast at www.spacex.com. The webcast will begin approximately 45 minutes prior to the opening of the daily launch window, at 8:15 a.m. EST / 5:15 a.m. PST / 13:15 UTC. During the webcast, SpaceX hosts will provide information specific to the flight, an overview of the Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon spacecraft and commentary on the launch and flight sequences.

(…) Read the rest of Full Coverage Schedule for SpaceX’s Falcon 9/Dragon Launch (148 words)

* * *

(C) Douglas for Parabolic Arc, 2010. | Permalink | No comment | Add to del.icio.us Post

Feed enhanced by Better Feed from Ozh

URL: http://www.parabolicarc.com/2010/12/05/full-coverage-schedule-spacexs-falcon-9dragon-launch/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.