New European Astronauts Receive Diplomas

ESA’s new astronauts received their awards after completing their Basic Training and were named officially as ‘astronauts’ in a ceremony held at the European Astronaut Centre (EAC) in Cologne, Germany, on Monday 22 November 2010. On the photo (from left to right): Jean-Jacques Dordain (ESA’s Director General), Thomas Pesquet, Luca Parmitano, Alexander Gerst, Samantha Cristoforetti, Simonetta Di Pippo (Director of Human Spaceflight), Andreas Mogensen, Timothy Peake and Michel Togini (Director of the European Astronaut Centre). Credits: ESA – S. Corvaja, 2010

ESA PRESS RELEASE 22 November 2010

ESA’s six latest astronaut candidates proudly received their diplomas today at the European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, Germany. From now on, they are officially ‘astronauts’.

The new astronauts, smiling in their blue overalls, were in the spotlight at ESA’s training centre today. They were presented with their certificates signed by Jean-Jacques Dordain, Director General, Simonetta Di Pippo, Director of Human Spaceflight, and Michel Togini, Head of the Astronaut Group.

(…) Read the rest of New European Astronauts Receive Diplomas (404 words)

* * *

(C) Douglas for Parabolic Arc, 2010. | Permalink | No comment | Add to Post

Feed enhanced by Better Feed from Ozh


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *